TL;DR
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
The 2026 Jeep Grand Wagoneer offers a lockable metal safe beneath the front center-console armrest. The Drive found it in an Upland test vehicle; the safe is included with the Upland package or the Heavy-Duty Trailer-Tow Package, and its lock can also be opened with the vehicle’s emergency key.
Jeep offers a lockable metal safe in the front center console of the 2026 Grand Wagoneer, according to The Drive, which found the compartment in a test vehicle. The safe is bundled into two option packages rather than described as a standalone purchase in the report, giving buyers a concealed place to store small valuables inside the SUV.
The Drive’s Joel Feder said the safe was beneath the front center-console armrest in an Upland-trim test vehicle. The publication reported that the metal compartment was also listed on the vehicle’s window sticker, although no one at Stellantis had pointed it out before the SUV arrived. The safe was empty when Feder opened it.
The compartment uses an electronic combination, and Feder said he was able to open it after entering a sequence of number ranges and pressing the open button. The report also says the metal emergency key that slides out of the vehicle’s electronic key fob is keyed to the safe. That provides a physical way to open it if the combination is forgotten, or to grant access without sharing the code.
On the tested Upland, the safe came as part of the Customer Preferred Package 29V, which The Drive said costs $6,065 and also includes features such as 20-inch all-terrain tires, skid plates, a 3.92 rear axle ratio and a two-speed transfer case. The report says buyers can also get the safe through the $1,995 Heavy-Duty Trailer-Tow Package, which is available on the base trim. It does not identify a separate price for the safe itself.
The safe adds a dedicated, lockable storage space to the Grand Wagoneer’s cabin, rather than relying only on the vehicle’s usual console or glove-box compartments. For owners who want to secure small items while traveling, the concealed metal compartment may be a useful feature. The report does not specify its dimensions or what items Jeep recommends storing in it.
Its placement in larger option bundles also affects what buyers may pay to get it. A customer interested in the safe but not the Upland’s off-road equipment may need to choose the trailer-tow package, according to The Drive. The safe is therefore part of a broader equipment decision, not a feature with an independently stated price in the source report.
The article characterizes the compartment as resembling a gun safe, but the available information does not establish that Jeep markets it specifically for firearms or that it meets any particular firearm-storage standard. Buyers should check the vehicle and package details directly and follow applicable laws and safe-storage guidance for any regulated items.
Products Worth Considering

Autel MaxiCOM MK808S Bidirectional Automotive Diagnostic Scanner

Autel Home EV Charger up to 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2 Charger with 25 ft Cable

Autel 40A Level 2 EV Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 J1772, WiFi, 25ft Cable
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The Drive connects the Grand Wagoneer safe to hardware used in the Ram 1500, noting that the Jeep and Ram share many hard points. The report says a similar in-vehicle safe is available in the Ram. It presents the feature as an example of equipment appearing across vehicles from Stellantis, Jeep’s parent company.
In the reviewed 2026 Grand Wagoneer, the safe was included in a feature package rather than presented as a prominent standalone selling point. Feder said he learned about it only after lifting the console armrest, despite its appearance on the window sticker. The account describes one vehicle and does not establish that the safe is standard across all Grand Wagoneer trims.
““Within a day of the Jeep showing up in my driveway I flipped up the front center console armrest and to my surprise was met with a lockable in-vehicle safe made of metal.””
— Joel Feder, The Drive reporter
Price and Storage Limits Unreported
The source does not give the safe’s dimensions, capacity or standalone price, nor does it say whether its construction or lock has been tested against forced entry. It also does not specify whether the safe is included on every vehicle equipped with either package, or whether availability varies by market or production configuration.
The account is based on one Upland test vehicle. The report does not establish that every 2026 Grand Wagoneer has the safe, and it does not provide a manufacturer statement describing its intended uses. The comparison to a gun safe is the article’s characterization, not evidence that the compartment is certified or marketed for firearm storage.
Check Packages Before Ordering
Buyers considering a Grand Wagoneer should confirm with a Jeep dealer or the current vehicle order guide whether the Locking In-Vehicle Safe is included in the specific trim and package they are ordering. They should also verify the package price and the safe’s availability for their vehicle, since the report does not provide a separate option price or a full trim-by-trim fitment list.
Further details would be needed to establish the safe’s capacity, security rating and recommended uses. Until Jeep or Stellantis provides those specifications, the reported features are limited to the locking metal compartment, its electronic combination and the matching physical key described by The Drive.
Key Questions
Does the 2026 Jeep Grand Wagoneer have a built-in safe?
It is available through option packages, according to The Drive. The publication found one beneath the center-console armrest in an Upland test vehicle; the report does not say that it is standard on every trim.
How can the safe be opened?
The report describes an electronic combination and says the metal emergency key in the vehicle’s key fob is also keyed to the safe. It does not provide a user manual or detailed instructions.
Which packages include the safe?
The Drive says it was included with the Upland’s Customer Preferred Package 29V and is also bundled into the Heavy-Duty Trailer-Tow Package, which the report says is available on the base trim.
Is the compartment certified as a gun safe?
The source describes the compartment as resembling a gun safe, but provides no certification or firearm-storage specifications. Jeep’s intended uses for the safe are not established in the report.
Source: thedrive.com
