TL;DR
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
InsideEVs reviewer Suvrat Kothari drove the 2027 Nissan Rogue Hybrid and Toyota RAV4 back to back, reporting that the Rogue felt quieter and smoother because its wheels are driven only by electric motors. The RAV4 performed better in some other areas, but the supplied report does not specify them; real-world fuel economy and a full head-to-head comparison remain unclear.
The Rogue’s main difference is its **third-generation e-Power system**. Nissan says a turbocharged 1.5-liter, three-cylinder gasoline engine generates electricity rather than mechanically driving the wheels. A **1.67-kilowatt-hour battery** supplies two electric motors, one at each axle, and the motors drive the vehicle. The report describes the system as having no mechanical connection from the engine to the wheels and no direct link between the front and rear axles.
Reviewer **Suvrat Kothari** described the Rogue as quiet and smooth around town, with the engine difficult to hear until freeway speeds. He said acceleration felt consistent and progressive, without the transmission sound he noticed in the RAV4. Nissan lists **225 system horsepower** and claims a **6.4-second 0-to-60-mph time**; the acceleration figure is the automaker’s claim, not an independently verified measurement in the excerpt.
The report gives the Rogue an **EPA-estimated 38 mpg combined** and lists an as-tested price of **$39,065**, including destination, with a base price of **$37,065**. It also describes regenerative braking and a one-pedal driving mode. Kothari found that mode worked, but said it slowed the SUV less strongly than an electric vehicle’s regenerative braking, requiring him to lift off earlier and use the brake pedal more often than he would in an EV.
A New Hybrid Rival for Nissan
The Rogue Hybrid brings Nissan into a U.S. **non-plug-in hybrid SUV** market where the Toyota RAV4 Hybrid, Honda CR-V Hybrid and Hyundai Tucson Hybrid are established competitors. For shoppers, the review points to a distinct trade-off: Nissan’s series-hybrid setup may feel more like an electric vehicle in ordinary driving, while buyers still get a gasoline engine that generates power without plugging in.
The test matters as an early account of how that system feels outside a specification sheet. But one reviewer’s impressions do not establish which vehicle is the better purchase overall. Fuel economy, price, cargo capacity, comfort and other attributes require comparable data and testing before consumers can draw a complete head-to-head conclusion.
Products Worth Considering

Autel MaxiCOM MK808S Bidirectional Automotive Diagnostic Scanner

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)

Chemical Guys 14-Piece Arsenal Builder Car Wash Kit with Foam Blaster
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Nissan’s e-Power Differs
Nissan has sold **e-Power vehicles internationally since 2016**, and the company says nearly two million vehicles equipped with the technology have been sold worldwide. The automaker told InsideEVs that earlier generations were designed for markets such as Japan and Europe, while the Rogue’s third-generation system was developed for North American conditions, including higher speeds and performance expectations.
That distinction separates the Rogue’s layout from the conventional hybrid arrangements described in the report. In the Toyota and Honda systems referenced by InsideEVs, the engine can also be connected to the wheels, with an electronic continuously variable transmission. In the Rogue, the engine produces electricity and the motors provide the drive. Nissan’s specifications list **dual-motor all-wheel drive** and ground clearance of 8.4 inches for the SV and 8.5 inches for the SR and Platinum trims.
The reviewer disclosed that **Nissan invited him** to the Santa Barbara drive and paid for travel, accommodation and food. That disclosure is relevant when weighing the report: the road impressions come from a manufacturer-organized media event, while the supplied excerpt does not describe an independent instrumented comparison.
““The Rogue felt superior with its EV-like traits.””
— Suvrat Kothari, InsideEVs reviewer
The Full Comparison Is Incomplete
The source excerpt says the **RAV4 outperformed the Rogue in some areas**, but does not identify those areas or provide comparative measurements. It also does not give the RAV4’s model year, trim, price or fuel-economy figure, so the vehicles’ value and efficiency cannot be compared from the supplied details alone.
The Rogue’s **38-mpg combined rating** is listed, but the excerpt does not state real-world test consumption or explain the conditions behind the drive. The 6.4-second acceleration time is attributed to Nissan. It is also unclear from the supplied material when the 2027 Rogue Hybrid will reach dealerships, how its trim levels and pricing compare with rivals, or whether the reviewer assessed cargo space, ride comfort and ownership costs in detail.
Pricing and Road Tests Ahead
Readers considering the Rogue can compare its published EPA rating, trim-specific equipment and pricing with current information for the RAV4 Hybrid and other compact hybrid SUVs. A more complete judgment will require **like-for-like testing** that identifies the competitors’ model years and trims and reports comparable fuel economy, acceleration, cabin and cargo measurements.
The supplied report does not give a dealer arrival date or additional pricing details beyond the listed base and as-tested prices. Those details, along with independent road tests and owner-use data, will help show whether the Rogue’s quieter power delivery is matched by competitive efficiency, practicality and cost.
Key Questions
What did the InsideEVs reviewer say stood out about the Rogue Hybrid?
Reviewer Suvrat Kothari said the Rogue felt **quieter and smoother** than the RAV4 in the back-to-back drive, particularly because the Rogue’s engine does not mechanically drive its wheels.
How does the 2027 Rogue Hybrid power its wheels?
According to the report, its 1.5-liter gasoline engine generates electricity for a battery, while **two electric motors drive the wheels**. The engine has no direct mechanical connection to them.
What fuel economy and price does the report list?
The report lists an **EPA-estimated 38 mpg combined**, a base price of $37,065 and an as-tested price of $39,065, including destination. It does not provide a comparable RAV4 price or fuel-economy figure in the supplied excerpt.
Was the Rogue shown to be better overall than the RAV4?
No. The reviewer preferred the Rogue’s EV-like driving characteristics but also said the **RAV4 performed better in some areas**. The excerpt does not specify those areas or provide a full set of comparative measurements.
Source: insideevs.com
